Blogia
Transistor kills the radio star?

O velho problema de mais escolha ou 'melhor escolha'

James Cridland, depois de ter defendido que os ouvintes de rádio querem sempre mais escolha, começa a concordar com quem - como Ramsey e eu, por exemplo - entende que excessod e escolha é perigoso e que controlar a escolha é fundamental.

«(...) because screens aren’t the first thing you think of when it comes to a radio, radios are very poor when it comes to navigation. The 50-odd stations I can pick up on my DAB Digital Radio are sorted in nothing other than alphabetical order. The only thing I know about these stations is the name. Now, I know what most of these brands stand for - but I wonder how many people, unpacking their DAB Digital Radio, have the faintest idea what these stations play? Life clearly gets worse if you’re skipping through XM Radio’s 170 channels - and don’t even get me started on the user interface of a typical internet radio, where a great demonstration is to try tuning into WBUR (which is helpfully near the top of the ‘W’s, after the bottom of the ‘K’s, and therefore if you’re tuning in alphabetically using one tuning knob it’ll take you a number of minutes to find); and what’s “WBUR” as a descriptor of what I could find there? For radio listeners, there’s no doubt that choice is good, in my mind. But we need better ways of navigating through this choice» (fonte CRIDLAND, James, The Perils of choice on radio, James Cridland's blog 23/06/08

0 comentarios