Blogia
Transistor kills the radio star?

«As pessoas são a mensagem»

«You also write that “people are the message.”

Absolutely, people are the message. People deliver the message, and they are the message as well. I use the example in the book where I listen to Daily Source Code with Adam Curry, and he kept talking about his great experience flying Virgin Atlantic. He was talking about Virgin because, you know, he’s a human being and he loved the experience. Well, guess what? When I was flying to the UK and thinking about which airline I wanted to fly, I ended up flying Virgin - all because of one person - one person’s not even overt recommendation, but endorsement. I’ve never met this person before, but I trusted him. I just felt like I trusted him. I trusted them because I listen to him regularly. Gee, that sounds pretty familiar. It sounds like the radio business. We trust these people we listen to because of the power of asynchronous intimacy. We build a relationship and rapport with them over time. And that trust almost goes out the window in the radio business when I hear, for example, these Dan Patrick live reads, you know: ”Hey, I’m Dan Patrick and when there’s a snowfall in the …. (Laughter) I use some brand of gloves, or whatever.” And I’m like, “Come on!” It’s ridiculous.  People are the message. They’re carriers of the message, but they’re also originators of the message as well. So, you know, there's no ad campaign any more. There’s no start. There’s no end. It's a very fluid picture. There are no more sellers. There’s just life, you know? Life happens. Life is around us. Humanity is around us. Passion and engagement are natural. It doesn’t belong to the media companies, and it doesn’t belong to the brand marketers. It belongs to us, and I think that’s the opportunity.»

fonte: Mark Ramsey, «"Radio, get your head out of the sand" - an interview with marketing guru Joseph Jaffe (Part 2)», Hear2-0, 16/01/08

0 comentarios