Blogia
Transistor kills the radio star?

A banda larga nunca será tão ubíqua como o FM/AM?

«(...) Internet radio. Today, it’s just as easy to listen to WFUV on my laptop as it is on my car radio. The sound quality is the same if I have a broadband connection to my laptop. If I live in NYC, then I can get that broadband connection almost anywhere by borrowing someone’s WiFi connection. With the right software, a WiFi enabled PDA can be as good or better than a car radio in most parts of NYC today.

This doesn’t mean that the radio industry doesn’t have a better product today and will for a long time to come. Every car comes with a radio that is simple to use. WiFi isn’t ubiquitous and free outside of the most dense major metropolitan areas. And it isn’t clear that WiFi or any other form of bandwidth will ever really be free and ubiquitous the way the radio spectrum is. But the trendline is going in a clear direction. High bandwidth IP is going to be everywhere someday pretty soon. In that world, the radio industry’s spectrum is not the proprietary advantage that it is today.» ,fonte: «Radio in 2010 July 12, 2004 in Venture Capital and Technology

0 comentarios