Blogia
Transistor kills the radio star?

Desilusão com o satélite (EUA)

«The biggest problem for satellite radio is that it is morphing into terrestrial radio, albeit without the commercials. Let me list some of the reasons I see satellite radio failing.
  • Limited playlists.
  • Annoying DJs.
  • Lousy reception.

You would think most of those would apply to any terrestrial radio station run by Clear Channel Communications (NYSE: CCU), but they're symptoms of the problem with satellite radio.

Play it again, Sam. And again and again.
I definitely don't miss the insipid commercials I used to find on regular radio, but with 24 hours of airtime to fill up, you'd think the satellite companies could maybe mix up the playlists once in a while. How many times can Sirius' rock station Octane play Hinder's "Lips of an Angel"? And I think there's some Carpenters song played every 12 minutes on its Moving Easy band.

I listen to just a handful of stations on Sirius, and believe me: You can just about set your watch to when a particular song is going to come on. Can't they play some of the lesser-known songs by the artists, just for variety? While I have a Sirius radio, the same failings apply to XM. Repetitive songs seem to be an industry-wide issue that I thought satellite radio would resolve. (...)»

fonte: the Motley Fool, Why Satellite Radio Will Fail, By Rich Duprey, May 2, 2007

0 comentarios